Tuesday, February 22, 2022

Harvard/Yale/Stanford Junior Faculty Forum, June 2022: call for papers

 Request for Submissions

Harvard/Yale/Stanford Junior Faculty Forum

June 9-10, 2022, Harvard Law School

Harvard, Yale, and Stanford Law Schools are soliciting submissions for the 22nd session of the Harvard/Yale/Stanford Junior Faculty Forum, to be held at Harvard Law School on June 9-10, 2022. Twelve to twenty junior scholars (with one to seven years in teaching) will be chosen, through a double-blind selection process, to present their work at the Forum. One or more senior scholars will comment on each paper. The audience will include the participating junior faculty, faculty from the host institutions, and invited guests. The goal of the Forum is to promote in-depth discussion about particular papers and more general reflections on broader methodological issues, as well as to foster a stronger sense of community among American legal scholars, particularly by strengthening ties between new and veteran professors.

NOTE: We intend to hold the Junior Faculty Forum in person, subject to COVID protocols at the time. We anticipate that in-person meetings will be possible, but masking and vaccination requirements may still be in effect. We will follow all applicable governmental and Harvard University guidelines, and we appreciate your understanding of the uncertainties.

TOPICS: Each year the Forum invites submissions on selected topics in public and private law, legal theory, and law and humanities topics, alternating loosely between public law and humanities subjects in one year, and private law and dispute resolution in the next. For the upcoming 2022 meeting, the topics will cover these areas of the law:



Civil Litigation and Dispute Resolution

Contracts and Commercial Law

Corporate and Securities Law

Intellectual Property

International Business Law

Private Law Theory and Comparative Private Law

Property, Estates, and Unjust Enrichment



A jury of accomplished scholars, not necessarily from Harvard, Yale, or Stanford, will choose the papers to be presented. There is no publication commitment. Harvard will pay presenters’ and commentators’ travel expenses, though international flights may be only partially reimbursed.

QUALIFICATIONS: Authors who teach law in the U.S. in a tenured or tenure-track position and have not been teaching at either of those ranks for a total of more than seven years are eligible to submit their work. American citizens or permanent residents teaching abroad are also eligible provided that they have held a faculty position or the equivalent, including positions comparable to junior faculty positions in research institutions, for less than seven years and that they earned their last degree after 2012. We accept jointly authored submissions, but each of the coauthors must be individually eligible to participate in the Forum. Papers that will be published prior to Forum are not eligible. There is no limit on the number of submissions by any individual author. Faculty from Yale, Stanford, and Harvard Law Schools are not eligible.

PAPER SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: Electronic submissions should be sent to Rebecca Tushnet at rtushnet@law.harvard.edu, with the subject line “Junior Faculty Forum.” The deadline for submissions is March 8, 2022. Remove all references to the author(s) in the paper. Please include in the text of the email and also as a separate attachment a cover letter listing your name, the title of your paper, your contact email and address through June 2022, and which topic your paper falls under. Each paper may only be considered under one topic. Any questions about the submission procedure should be directed both to Rebecca Tushnet and her assistant, Matthew Nicola, mnicola@law.harvard.edu.

FURTHER INFORMATION: Inquiries concerning the Forum should be sent to
Matthew Stephenson (mstephen@law.harvard.edu) or Rebecca Tushnet (rtushnet@law.harvard.edu) at Harvard Law School, Norman Spaulding (nspaulding@stanford.law.edu) at Stanford Law School, or Christine Jolls (christine.jolls@yale.edu) or Yair Listokin (yair.listokin@yale.edu) at Yale Law School.

Rebecca Tushnet

Matthew Stephenson

Norman Spaulding

Christine Jolls

Yair Listokin

No comments: